This White Cometh Not From Bleach

Becoming a mother has ruined the game of baseball for me.  I used to get excited whenever a player would slide into a base.  Now I just ask, “Who has to clean those uniforms?”  The player gets up and dusts himself off, and all I can do is shake my head and wonder how much bleach it will take to clean that stain.  Clearly if a mother had been in charge, baseball pants would all be brown. My husband Dave puts up with my comments with stride, although if I’m talking about laundry during baseball games, then I might as well take out my knitting and put his drink on a doily.

This lamenting stems from the challenges of doing daily laundry for three young children, two of whom are boys who get into everything.  By the end of the day, the pile of soiled clothes, cloths, and towels resembles the rugged Alpine peaks.  You know it can’t be good when your kids can play King of the Mountain on your laundry.

I have seen my share of stains, but the worst are the red ones – mainly blood and pasta sauce.  I’ve considered serving only white food with white sauces.  What’s for dinner?  Chicken Alfredo, white rice, and cauliflower…vanilla ice cream for dessert.  But short of keeping my children in a bubble, there will always be stains.  If only I could find a bleach that works.

During his Transformation, Jesus’ clothes were described as “dazzling white, whiter than anyone in the world could bleach them”  (Mark 9:3). This caught my attention on a particularly bad laundry day.  I stated to imagine that when Elijah and Moses appeared talking to Jesus, they were saying, “How did you get your clothes so WHITE?” To which he would respond, “This kind of white cometh not from bleach, but from true cleanliness.”  Then God spoke to their disbelief from the cloud, “This is my son, whom I love.  Listen to him!”  That will teach me not to get too close to the bleach fumes.

God’s desire is for mankind to be cleansed.  In fact, only He knows how to remove the dreaded red stains. Blood is perhaps the most challenging of all stains to remove, yet Isaiah prophesied of how even the blood-red stains of our sins would one day be cleansed:

Isaiah 1:18 “Come now, let us reason together,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.

Notice that it does not go on to mention some new amazing product on the market that can remove blood stains.  God does not need an infomercial. He cleansed us the only way possible – by the sacrifice of his son Jesus. 

In the Kingdom we will be wearing white robes, and I imagine that they will be dazzling white.  I’ll try not to worry about who has to clean them. If God could figure out how to cleanse our sins, then He can do anything.

SDZZVMRB8PFC

2 thoughts on “This White Cometh Not From Bleach

  1. In this dirty old world, it sure is wonderful and amazing and fantastic and incredibly humbly that we have Jesus to wash us clean……no amount of washing that we could do would ever work. We just have to accept the fact that we can’t do this on our own. It’s only Jesus who can get us clean. Yes, Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so, little ones on him be strong, for we are weak and he is strong.

Leave a Reply

