My Cup Falleth Over

Why is it that a child’s cup refuses to stay upright?  I think there is some powerful magnetic force from the universe that pulls all kiddie cups into a horizontal position.  Even on airplanes, the flight attendants command the return of seats and trays into the upright position, but there is no mention of sippy cups.  Because they know.  It’s in the manual. 

Flight Attendant’s Manual: Section 4, subparagraph B

Due to uncontrollable laws of nature, children’s cups may not remain in the upright position, so do not require passengers to fight against this force.  Doing so may drive a mother insane and cause her to open the emergency exit door during the flight

Consider Isaac Newton, one of the most influential people in the history of mankind. He described gravitation and laws of motion, proving that the motions of objects on Earth and of celestial bodies are governed by the same set of natural laws. He was a brilliant scientist, mathematician, astronomer, and apple-ologist.  Newton himself claimed that his theory of gravitation was inspired by watching an apple fall from a tree.  An apple falling?  No, I believe it was a sippy cup.  Maybe there really was a falling apple, but if anything it fell and knocked over his child’s cup of milk.  Newton soon realized that no matter how he placed his child’s cup, it inevitably spilled.  And The Laws of Motion were born.

I learned from experience that there is no such thing as “spill proof” cups.  Yes, if the wind gauge is 0, and the cup is left by itself with no child within a ten-mile radius, the cup may be spill proof.  But any cup with liquid in it is just begging to be knocked over and spilled.  Even my four-year-old figured out that if you throw a spill proof cup hard enough against the floor, the “lock” will disengage, thereby allowing him to decorate the room with his drink.

In case you didn’t know, the adage “There’s no use crying over spilled milk” is really speaking to the mother.  What does the kid care?  The mom is the one who has to clean it up anyway.  I was recently fighting back the tears after each of my three kids knocked over their cup of milk.  The one redeeming moment was when my five-year-old noticed that the milk pools had combined to form into the shape of the United States of America.  After that brief patriotic moment subsided, I started the lengthy cleanup process.     

The next morning, I realized that my kids had actually helped me understand a Bible verse.  My late grandmother loved Psalm 23, and she could recite it with ease.  She recited it so often that I also memorized bits and pieces of it over the years.  Her love and respect for the Scriptures made an indelible impression on me as a young girl that remains etched in my heart.  As I brought the milk to the table that morning, I could almost hear her voice repeating King David’s profound words from verse 5:

…thou annointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

I smiled as I knew that I would not really mind if the cups fell over and spilled.  It would serve as a reminder that my cup may falleth over, but it also runneth over.  Nothing can keep God from spilling His cup of love and overflowing into mine.  As I looked at the faces around the table, I recognized that God is abounding in love, and He has truly poured His blessings out on me. 

Leave a Reply

